Reminder—NBCC Finalists Announcement and Reception 7 PM Saturday

by Eric Banks | Jan-21-2010

Please join the NBCC in New York on Saturday for the announcement of finalists for the NBCC awards in autobiography, biography, criticism, fiction, nonfiction and poetry, and the winners of the Sandrof award for lifetime achievement and the Balakian award for criticism. The announcement will be held at Housing Works Bookstore Café, 126 Crosby Street, New York, at 7 PM

Special guest announcers: Anthony Appiah, President, PEN American Center, 2008 Sandrof award winner will announce the Sandrof award; Balakian winner Albert Mobilio will announce this year's Balakian award. Annoucing the finalists in respective categories will be: 2008 fiction finalist Elizabeth Strout; 2008 autobiography/memoirs winner Ariel Sabar; 1999 biography finalist Jean Strouse; 1997 and 2008 finalist in criticism Vivian Gornick; 2008 poetry finalist Brenda Shaughnessy; and 2000 nonfiction winner Ted Conover.

And if you can't join us in person, you can follow us in real time on Twitter ( as the finalists are announced.

About the Critical Mass Blog

Commentary on literary criticism, publishing, writing, and all things NBCC related. It's written by independent members of the NBCC Board of Directors (see list of bloggers below).


Categories & Archives

Join the NBCC/Renew
Emerging Critics

NBCC Awards

Finalists for 2018

See all award winners

Find out how to submit

Read how we select

Frequently Asked Questions

Videos and Podcasts

NBCC 2018 Awards Ceremony

NBCC 2017 Awards Ceremony

NBCC 2017 Finalists Reading

All videos and podcasts.