The Ivan Sandrof Life Achievement Award

by admin | Oct-02-2006

The National Book Critics Circle is currently soliciting paragraphs of nomination from our members for the annual Ivan Sandrof Life Achievement Award. The award recognizes a dedication to book culture both long-standing and outstanding. Past winners have included Studs Terkel, Richard Howard, Pauline Kael, Lawrence Ferlinghetti, Leslie Fiedler, Albert Murray, Alfred Kazin, Elizabeth Hardwick, William Maxwell, Donald Keene, James Laughlin, Robert Giroux, The Library of America and Leslie A. Marchand. As you can see from this list, publishers and critics have predominated, but by no means to the exclusion of the occasional wild card.

Ivan Sandrof, by the way, was the first president of the NBCC (and the man who first told Nicholas Basbanes, his successor as book editor of the Worcester Evening Gazette, not to be shy about having interviewees inscribe their books).

Please email nominations to .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) by December 30, 2006.

About the Critical Mass Blog

Commentary on literary criticism, publishing, writing, and all things NBCC related. It's written by independent members of the NBCC Board of Directors (see list of bloggers below).


Categories & Archives

Join the NBCC/Renew
Emerging Critics

NBCC Awards

Finalists for 2018

See all award winners

Find out how to submit

Read how we select

Frequently Asked Questions

Videos and Podcasts

NBCC 2018 Awards Ceremony

NBCC 2017 Awards Ceremony

NBCC 2017 Finalists Reading

All videos and podcasts.